Otters splash the awards

PRIZES all round and funding to take Horncastle swimmers from strength to strength has seen the Otters swimming club season end in fine style.

On Saturday evening, swimmers and their families gathered at the Admiral Rodney Hotel for the Horncastle Otters Swimming Club annual presentation evening.

The club's patron, Coun Fiona Martin, presented the prizes and certificates.

Club chairman Jackie Ross said this year had been particularly good as the Otters have achieved the prestigious Swim 21 Clubmark status.

This demonstrates that the club is recognised by Sport England and the Amateur Swimming Association for achieving high operating standards and teaching levels.

Swim 21 status has allowed the club to qualify for a grant from the lottery funded Awards for All programme and have been delighted to receive 4,500 to fund new equipment and training resources.

The winter season at the Otters now has a water polo class on Wednesdays.

The club accepts children of all abilities for swimming and lifesaving lessons from the age of five and the summer season will begin in April. Details: 01507 522489.

Awards-Otters Swimming Club Advancement: Tia Kulezich and Charlie Bell; Willis Confidence Cup: Harry Close and Sarah Powell; Fred Clarke Shield: Rebecca Low; Roland Wingate Junior Achievement: Danielle King and Molly Mackinder; Most Promising Swimmer: Rebecca Barley; Patterson Cup: Emily McCarroll; Otters Swimming Club Achievement (senior): Louise Wain and Sarah McCarroll; Senior Hard Work Cup: Oliver Stacey and Tyler Ray; Rose Bowl (senior all rounder): William Mulligan; Teacher's Award: Jessica Wilkinson.

Junior RLSS Cup: Danielle Rhodes; Ben Gates Life Saving Cup: Joanne Foster; Senior RLSS Cup: Laura Ross; Horncastle Swimming Club Young Adult RLSS: Lucy Slade.

Junior Diving (gold): Gabriel Tempest; Junior Diving (silver): William Ross; Junior Diving (silver): William Stacey; Junior Diving (silver): Hannah Dobson; Junior Diving (bronze): Joseph O'Brien King; Junior Diving (bronze): Ashley Bullivant; Junior Diving (bronze): Dana Kenneally-Forrester.

Senior Diving (gold): Thomas Lea; Senior Diving (silver): Sally Jollands; Senior Diving (bronze): Louise Wain; Senior Diving (bronze): Mark Hurrell.

Life Saving Races junior: gold: William Ross; gold: Ashley Bullivant; silver: Joseph O'Brien King; silver: Molly Mackinder; bronze: Olivia Tant; bronze: Lucy Howlett.

Life saving races senior: gold: Zoe Ingall; gold: Rebecca Lea; silver: Laura Ross; silver: Jonah Adams; bronze: James Stones; bronze: William Beebe.