TENNIS: Awards galore for Horncastle juniors

Horncastle Tennis Club's juniors picking up their awards on Friday EMN-141020-095848001
Horncastle Tennis Club's juniors picking up their awards on Friday EMN-141020-095848001

Horncastle Tennis Club held its first presentation night on Friday with members of all ages gathered to celebrate the achievements of the last year.

Awards were presented for players from seven years upwards. Over 40 juniors received awards for their various tournaments and match plays. Special mention went to the U12 boys team who won Division 2 of the County Aegon League. Ross Armstrong, Ben Tyrrell, Joe Sheldon, Freddie Dobbin, Freddie Merritt and Charlie Tant all received trophies and the LTA provided a banner for the clubhouse.

Not to be out done, the adults also had a league winning team - the ladies second team won division 3 of the Slazenger Lincs League. Keyrings were awarded to Julie Hillsmith, Jane Reeds, Sally Speed, Karen Stott, Cynthia Goodacre, Di Jones, Edwina Jackson, Julie Smith and Yvonne Thomas.

The Fiddies Cup is awarded for the junior who plays the most matches in the season. This year the cup was awarded to eight-year-old Max Wilson who has more than 60 matches under his belt this year. He has recently won a Grade 6 tournament and was a finalist playing up an age group too.

The Jack Bryant Cup for Endeavour is awarded each year to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the club. It was awarded this year to a very worthy recipient, Tracey Ramsden, who works tirelessly behind the scenes keeping the clubhouse stocked with essentials and providing excellent catering provision for all of our events. Tracey is instrumental in ensuring the social side of the club is developing well.

The winter teams were also out in force this weekend. The ladies second team notched up a credible 7-1 win against Bourne. Playing this weekend were Sally Speed and Karen Stott and Di Jones and Cynthia Goodacre. The ladies first team travelled to Sleaford but lost 5-3. The team was Mireya MacRury and Jenny Golland and Jane Clark and Jane Reeds.