Horncastle Bowls Club

Thursday, 8am - VICTORY in the Club Singles Championships meant there was a clean sweep for Olive Wells and Paul Bark at the end of Horncastle' s indoor bowls season.

For Olive Wells, in particular, this came at the end of an exhausting two weeks of bowls.

After competing in the National Finals of the ladies' unbadged pairs with Lesley Holmes, where they narrowly lost in the quarter-final to the events winners, both Olive and Lesley moved on to another national final event in the ladies' EBF Rinks, where together with Marjorie Hancock, they were defeated in the quarter-finals.

In between these games, Olive was competing in the Horncastle Club Championships, and before the club games were completed, she went to Lincoln to play in the county finals there.

Horncastle had representatives in the ladies' singles - Olive Wells, ladies' triples Olive Wells, Mary Johnson and Jill King and men's pairs - Paul Bark and Keith Jackman (who were up against Lincoln 's International pairing of Danny Brown and Billy Jackson) in the county finals.

After three very close matches, the Horncastle bowlers all ended as beaten finalists.

On a club, level the men's LIBA team, captained by Keith Jackman, topped Division Three to gain promotion, while the men's over 60s team – captained by George Wells - and the mixed league team under Olive Wells were pleased to hold on to their league placings and avoid relegation.

The fnals of the club's championships - though not always the closest of games -produced some very good bowling much to the delight of the enthusiastic supporters who came along each evening to watch.

The last match of the season, between the ladies and gents for the Gwen Wilson Trophy, was won by the gents.

Bill Elston compared the Presentation Night and John Maltby, the retiring president, presented the cups and prizes.

Olive Preston was presented with the president's collar as she takes over the role for the next year.


Club championships: Jepson Trophy - winner Olive Wells, runner-up Jackie Green; Simpson Trophy -winner Paul Bark, runner-up Rob Wells;

Clench Bowl Ladies' Pairs - winners Mary Johnson, Olive Wells, runners-up Marjorie Hancock, May Berry; Ventura Trophy Men's Pairs - winners Paul Bark, Keith Jacman, runners-up Dave Turner, George Lancaster; Christine Lavey Trophy Ladies Triples - winners Olive Wells, Mary Johnson, Jill King, runners-up Marjorie Hancock, Sheila Grimwood, May Berry; George Reid Trophy Men's Triples - winners Paul Bark, Keith Jackman, Richard Whitaker, runners-up John Hoyles, George Wells, Maurice Edwards; Revesby Trophy Ladies' Rinks - winners Olive Wells, Mary Johnson, Lesley Holmes, Jill King, runners-up Nora Flint, Margaret Smith, Jackie Green, Sylvie Swift; Maxamillian Trophy Men's Rinks - winners Paul Bark, Keith Jackman, Richard Whitaker, Bob Brown, runners-up Norman Burton, Ted Tasker, Fred White, Rob Wells; Small Sheild Mixed Pairs - winners Paul Bark, Mary Johnson, runners-up Chris Arend, Ted Tasker; Doyle Trophy Mixed Rinks – winners Paul Bark, Keith Jackman, Mary Johnson, Elsie Dale, runners-up Bill Elston, Sheila Grimwood, Jim and Jackie Green; Castle Bowl Drawn Mixed Triples - winners Norman Burton, Kate Wright, Jack Spiller, runners-up Margaret Smith,Denis Kisby, John Hoyles; Men's Singles Plate - winner George Lancaster, runner-up Norman Burton.

League titles:

Monday Afternoon Triples Division One - winners High Fliers - N.Burton, T. Tasker, D. Tompkins, B. Brown, F. White, R. Wells, B. Preston, runners-up Wings – C. and J. Bird, O. Preston. J. Mears, M. Edwards, M. Cowman. Division Two - winners Greenwoods - N. Flint, S. Swift, P. Smith, M. Smith, T. Besford, E. Pryor, J. Green, runners-up Skylarks - F. and A .Pearce, F. and D. Keller, S. Dolman, P. Kitching, S. Everton.

Evening Triples – winners Red Devils - T. Tasker, J. Moody, P. Baxter, P. Bark, R. Whitaker, K. Jackman, B. Preston, runners-up Asgudasyew - B. Elston, C. Davis, T.Bourne, N. Burton, J. and J. Green.

Ladies League - winners Ladybirds - M. Berry, S. Dolman, M. Hancock, G. Wells, B. Brewerton, M. Burnett, runners-up Magpies - J. King, A. Horner, E. Johnson. J. Charleton, S. England, M. Edmonds.

Wednesday Morning Triples - winners Triers - N. Burton, S. Dolman, L. Gospel, V. and C. Sutton, B. West, runners-up - Wecanwin - B. Brown, T. Tasker, D. Tompkins, B. Preston.

Thursday Afternoon Fours - winners GudGuys - B. Brown, T. Tasker, F. Pearson,, D. Tompkins, B. Preston, runners-up Billscrew - B. Elston, J. and J. Green, V. and C. Sutton, N. Burton, J. Meredith.

Thursday Evening Fours - winners Judy & the Baker Boys - M. Myers, J. Day, N. Burton, B. Deane, T. Tasker, K. Jackman, B. Brown. J. Moody, runners-up Strugglers – O. and D. Wells, E. and G. Lancaster, T. Rollings, J. Spiller, M. Johnson.

Friday Afternoon Football League Division One - winners Real Madrid - N. Burton, B. Brown, runners-up Burnley - J. Moody, P. Baxter, R. Whitaker, D. Wells.

Division Two - winners Aston Villa – T. and M. Hancock, B. and W. Roper, runners-up Blackburn - S. Balderson, M. Paterson, P. Kitching, S. Everton.

Wilkinson Trophy - winner - D. Bellhouse, runner-up - D. Williams.

THE club will remain open during the months until the new season starts on September 6, but with restricted times.