FOOTBALL: Bent sent off as Horncastle Town crash to another defeat


CGB Humbertherm 2 
Horncastle Town 0

Striker Danny Bent saw red as Horncastle Town crashed to their tenth defeat of the season at Sills and Betteridge Premier Division rivals CGB Humbertherm last Saturday.

Town travelled to Humbertherm’s Fulstow ground looking to avenge a 3-1 loss at The Wong earlier in the season and move away from the bottom four of the table.

However, it all went wrong as Humbertherm took all three points after Town lost skipper and key defender Chris Johnson to injury while Bent was dismissed late on for a second booking.

Town were again without a long list of absentees including Dave Marshall, Steve Lovett, Carl Smith and Michael Harness.

Karl Porter and Jack Baxter stepped up from the reserves while Scott Lowman was only fit enough to make the bench.

Striker Tony Edwards was available after his one-off appearance for Louth Town the previous week.

Town started the game brightly and were in full control of the early exchanges, but Edwards’ looping header from eight-yards cannoned off the bar and back out of danger.

Just before the break, Humbertherm had their best chance of the half, but their striker failed to hit the target with only Town ‘keeper Will Wood to beat.

The second half started with the home side seeing a lot more of the ball.

On the hour, Town captain Chris Johnson had to be replaced by Lowman with a reoccurrence of his back problem.

Straight after Johnson’s departure, Humbertherm took the lead.

A cross from the right evaded everyone - apart from a home player at the back post who had the easy task of finding the back of the net.

On 70 minutes, Ollie Johnson picked up an injury and was replaced by his brother Ben.

With 15 minutes left, Town were reduced to ten men when Bent’s late challenge on a defender earned him an early shower.

Town already faced an uphill battle and Humbertherm clinched the points with five minutes left. Wood pulled off a great save from an initial shot but the rebound fell back to the same player who made no mistake

Team: Wood, Rawdon, C.Johnson, (Lowman), Porter, Shinn, Baxter, Brown, O.Johnson (B.Johnson), Melia, Edwards, Bent.