CRICKET: Woodhall Spa’s Smith is star with the ball in six-wicket victory

Lincs ECB Premier League

Lindum 108

Woodhall Spa 109-4

Woodhall Spa won by six wickets at Jubilee Park, with Luke Smith taking five of Lindum’s for 21 runs, three of them clean bowled.

After Lindum won the toss and elected to bat, opener Will Taylor faced just seven balls before he was bowled Luke Smith for only two runs.

Fellow opener Charles Tomlinson was the only Lindum batsman to make double figures, notching 11 fours in his 71 before he was caught by Jack Timby off a Malinga Bandara delivery.

Smith then took the next four wickets, bowling out Richard Bishop for a golden duck and Tom Lindsay for a single run, whilst Luke Robinson (9) was caught by Ross Dixon and Bandara caught Geoff Middleton for four runs.

Lindum skipper Jonathan Miller was clean bowled by Etienne Botha for a duck, and Ollie Alford (5) was caught by Jack Luffman off a Bandara ball. Bandara then bowled out Jake Benson for two.

Eleventh man Joe Peatman faced just three balls before he was caught by Sam Evison off a Botha delivery.

In reply, Spa’s Evison made 15 runs before he was caught by Lindsay off a Miller ball. Woodhall captain Luffman (31) went the same way, with Joe Peatman this time the bowler.

Bandara top scored with 33 runs from 44 balls and remained unbeaten, seeing Ricky Lovelace (0) and Jack Hughes (11) come and both go lbw to Miller deliveries.

Matthew Wooldridge (8no) partnered Bandara to take Woodhall to victory in the 28th over.

Lincoln & District League

Premier Trophy

Sleaford 2nd 285-3

Horncastle 167

Sleaford elected to bat after they won the toss.

Their star man was opener Simon Godby who smashed 145 runs, including 23 fours and four sixes from 98 balls, before he was caught by Richard Hickling off a Jack Tate delivery.

Ashley Bullivant bowled Oliver Bean lbw for 17 runs. whilst Matthew Bean (49) was just denied his half-century when he was bowled by Tate.

Kurt Colyn (31) and Ben Broom (18) remained at the crease to see out Sleaford’s 40 overs.

Horncastle had an inauspicious start to their replay when skipper Rob Bee was caught for a duck by Gavin Hutson off Mason Mansfield, having faced only three balls.

Fellow opener Lewis Lovegrove fared little better, notching up just two runs from two balls before he was bowled by Ashley Jarvis.

Ben Fidling was unable to get any runs on the scoreboard in the four balls he faced, caught by Oliver Bean off a Mansfield ball.

Gareth Jones was Horncastle’s top scorer with 36 from 26 balls, falling to a Godby catch off a Jarvis delivery.

Nathan Whiting (4) and Kieran Wilson (23) were both taken out by the bowling of Jarvis, whilst Jonathan Clark fell to a Thomas Broughton ball for 10 runs.

Hickling was stumped by Oliver Bean for 27, with Ben Hutson claiming the wicket. Hutson then caught and bowled Jack Tate for 16.

Bullivant managed 34 runs before he was caught by Oliver Bean off a Jarvis delivery, as Horncastle’s innings ended in the 28th over.

Premier Division

Woodhall Spa 194-6

Hartsholme 194-6

Woodhall Spa’s Sunday first team drew with Hartsholme, reaching identical totals from their 40 over innings.

Spa’s innings included two half-centuries, the first from opener Etienna Botha who notched 56 before he was caught by Matthew Wooldridge off a Tom Fahy delivery.

Fellow opener Jack Hughes added 23 runs until he was bowled by Jack Thomas. Top scorer was Jack Timby who reached 58 before he was stumped by Scott Nicolson, with Henry Rush claiming the wicket.

Fahy doubled his wicket tally when Ross Dixon was caught for 10, and then caught Henry Wilson for 16 off a Steven Wilkinson ball. Lewis Holmes managed to add just two runs before he was bowled by Rush.

Skipper Paul Timby (2no) was at the crease with Hugo Finley (11no) when Woodhall’s 40 overs ran out.

In reply, strike bowler Timby took three wickets including that of Hartsholme opener Rush (96) who fell short of his century when he went lbw. Fellow opener Ed Bosworth reached 44 before he was bowled by Botha.

Timby’s second wicket took out Matthew Worsnop for eight when he was caught by Dixon. Wooldridge (17) went the same way to a Jack Cooke catch off a Botha delivery, whilst Nicolson was run out for six runs.

Timby bowled Jack Senescall out for two but Asif Khan (1no) and James Favill (2no) remained unshaken as the overs ran out for both sides.

Lincs County League

Second Division

Horncastle 87

Alkborough 2nd 91-2

Alkborough won the toss at Horncastle and put the home side in to bat.

Top scorer turned out to be opener Harry Smith who reached 23 before he was bowled by David Elliott. Elliott also took the wickets of opener Luke Odin (9), caught by Nathan Popple, and Lewis Lovegrove who went lbw.

Oliver Kilgallon then got in on the action, taking the wicket of Kieran Wilson for six, caught by Josh Smith, and bowling Horncastle captain Nick Hill for just one run.

Richard Hickling was stumped on 22 by Popple off the bowling of Rich Kirman, and Kilgallon caught Jamie Lewis off an Elliott delivery.

Kirman bowled Jonathan Clark for 16 whilst Horncastle’s tail enders were unable to add to the tally whatsoever.

In reply, Joel Hughes took the wicket of opener David Elliott for four runs when he was caught by Ben Wilkinson.

Harry Smith bowled out top scorer David Kilgallon for 43, whilst M. Baxter reached 37 to take his side to victory in the 18th over.