It’s all smiles as Horncastle pupils dance off with awards

editorial image
Share this article

It was smiles all round as youngsters from the Julie Deane School of Dance held their presentation evening at Banovallum School.

The event featured the presentation of International Dance Teachers Association awards and certificates.

Examinations were taken in ballet, tap and modern jazz - from preparatory grade to grade 5. In all, 175 examinations were taken. All pupils were successful with 109 gaining distinctions.

Presentations were made by Miss Kelly Ross and Miss Esme Lintin (Head Girl)

Award winners were:

Bowden Shield for highest marks in Ballet - Ruby Anthony (91 marks); runner up - Zara Gotts; Nicola Lancaster Trophy for highest marks in tap - Jennifer Elvin (90 marks); runners up - Katie Yule, Eve Herbert, Fleur Fawcett, Jasmin Harris, Milla Whittemore; Mary Merrills Trophy for highest marks in modern - Laura Elvin, Danielle King (89) marks; runners up - Yasmin Hill, Abi Price. Smart Boy Awards - Jacob Dean, Jay Wold; Kelly Ross Disco Trophy - Poppy Pearson, Ruby Anthony; runners up - Marla Bell, Zara Gotts. Rhythm and Musicality Trophy - Ruby Anthony; Character Expression Trophy - Lucy Wilkinson; Creative Expression Trophy - Isabella Stephenson; Personality Trophy - Fleur Fawcett; Audrey Askew Trophy for a promising junior - Gracie Danby; Sally Scarfe Trophy for highest aggregate mark - Danielle King, Ruby Anthony, Zara Gotts, Fleur Fawcett; Ballet Deportment prizes - Jay Wold, Ruby Anthony, Ella Boyd, Ellie Rhodes, Ellie Haskins, Danielle King; Medals for progress and improvement in ballet - Evie Brooks, Aimee Brooks, Jessica Bird, Rose Elliott, Georgia Barnett, Gabrielle Kirk, Sarah McCarroll; Medals for progress and improvement in tap - Chloe Ward, Helaina Wold, Jenna Dean, Milla Whittemore, Abigail Burn; Medals for progress and improvement in modern - Connie Bell, Hermione Trapmore, Emily Smith, Georgina Elliott, Charly Ives, Laura Elvin; Medals for progress and improvement in fun modern - Imogen Ward, Alex Frick, Jessica Frick, Kate Clark.