The Dogdyke Pumping Station will be open to the public on September 7 - giving visitors the chance to see the fascinating engines in operation.
Built in 1856, the unique beam engine built by the Wakefield firm of Bradley and Craven will be steaming and operating its 26ft diameter scoop wheel that lifted water from the lower drain and into the River Witham.
Along side this remarkable engine is the diesel pump that replaced it in 1940.
Built in Lincoln by Ruston and Hornsby, this single cylinder diesel, with its open fly wheel, powers a large centrifugal pump that had been build by Messers Gwynns in their Lincoln works.
This type of engine was once common throughout the Fens keeping the land dry until being replaced by electric pumps.
The engine at Dogdyke is still operational and can be used as a standby in an emergency - if the modern pumps are out of commission.
In addition to these engines, local engineer Vince Free will be bringing his quarter scale model of a steam showman’s engine ‘Spa Princess’.
It is modelled on ‘Supreem’ the last showman’s engine to be built by the Leeds engineering firm of Fowler.
The pumping station will be open from 1.30-4.30pm..
Admission is free but donations are welcome to help support the continuing preservation of the engines and buildings.
There is a refreshment room on the ‘old’ engine attendants cottage, serving home made cakes,
*For further information, or if you would like to join the volunteer team, contact Chris Page on 01522 683755 or visit the web site www.dogdyke.com